All Collections
Tutorials
How to Change the Template
How to Change the Template

In this tutorial we are going to learn how to change the template in the project editor.

Enrique avatar
Written by Enrique
Updated over a week ago

If for any reason you decide that the chosen template may not be the right one for your project, it is very easy to change the template on the fly.

However, we recommend to do this change right after you create the project. If you decide to change the template of an already styled ebook, you will lose all those changes and will be like starting the project again. Keep in mind that each template has its own styles and these are NOT transferred when you apply a new template.

And also keep in mind that if you pick a dynamic template, you WON"T be able to change templates at all.

So please make sure to read these very important tutorials as well:

1. Choosing a New Template

The process is as simple as clicking on the 'Templates' tab (1) and then scroll down (2) the templates collection till you find one you like. 

Click on it and see if you like it. If you prefer to keep your current template or want to check another template, click on the 'X' at the top right to close the template popup.

2. Changing the Template

Once you find a template that you like click on 'Use the Template' (1) to make the template change permanent. You will also be prompted to choose between creating a backup or your current template/project - recommended - or skipping the back up creation (2).

Here you can briefly compare how the new template styles have been applied to the project.

As mentioned in the beginning of this tutorial, it is best to use this feature at the beginning of the project as is easier to change from one to two column templates without having a significant impact in the content structure. However making this change at the end of a project, while it can be done, it may significantly affect elements like the table of contents or a call to action. In these cases the affected elements need to be deleted and added again.

Did this answer your question?